The Department of Animal Sciences at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign strives to promote a culture of diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice among our faculty, staff, students and communities served. We respect and celebrate diverse voices, abilities, and perspectives. The individual and unique identities within our department allow us to collaboratively enhance the health and well-being of humans and animals on a local and global scale. We aim to create innovative and culturally diverse solutions to support a safe, sustainable, and accessible food supply.  By respecting and embracing cultural pluralism, our students feel a sense of belonging and are comfortable sharing their views and experiences in our classrooms. Inclusive excellence is a core value of our department and supports our goal to make everyone feel safe, heard, and respected, to have equal access and opportunity to succeed, and to be responsible members of a diverse society. U & I belong here!

Faculty DEI Committee Members


  • Matthew Dean, Assistant Professor


  • Crystal Allen, Lecturer
  • Maria Cattai de Godoy, Associate Professor
  • Kira Diaz, Undergraduate Student
  • Debra Hagstrom, Extension Specialist
  • David Miller, Professor
  • Leonardo Molina, Graduate Student
  • Sarah Richardson, Senior Instructor
  • Sarah Rush, Undergraduate Student
  • Alicia Schneider, Instructor/Academic Advisor
  • Kaitlyn Sommer, Graduate Student


If you have comments or suggestions, please email Dr. Matthew Dean at