University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign University of Illinois Sesquicentennial College of ACES
ACES Animal Sciences
Give to Animal Sciences

Undergraduate Advising

We value undergraduate advising and realize that a strong connection with our faculty members is important and can be a great resource in the future. 

As an undergraduate, you will be advised by Lauren Redman during your freshmen and sophomore years. After that point, you will be assigned a faculty advisor.  Our curriculum will expose you to over half of our faculty members in the first two years.  You will have a great idea of who you want your advisor to be, and we definitely give you input in the advisor assignment process!

Students who establish strong relationships with their advisors get more out of their Animal Sciences experience. For example, faculty advisors can direct you to potential research opportunities and provide valuable career advice. Information on our advisors is provided below.

If you are a current student at the University of Illinois in a different major, and are interested in switching into Animal Sciences, please contact Lauren Redman directly.

Advisor Contact Information,
Areas of Research
Advisor Contact Information,
Areas of Research
Sarah D. Albert Sarah Albert
salbert2@illinois.edu
Jonathan E. Beever Jonathan Beever
jbeever@illinois.edu
217-333-4194
Genetics, Genomics, and Bioinformatics
Dustin Boler Dustin Boler
dboler2@illinois.edu
Meat Science and Muscle Biology
Felipe  Cardoso Felipe Cardoso
cardoso2@illinois.edu
Nutrition
Reproductive Biology
Maria Cattai de Godoy Maria Cattai de Godoy
mgodoy2@illinois.edu
217-300-0226
Nutrition
Megan J. Dailey Megan Dailey
mdailey5@illinois.edu
Nutrition
Anna  Dilger Anna Dilger
adilger2@illinois.edu 217-333-3986
Meat Science and Muscle Biology
Ryan N. Dilger Ryan Dilger
rdilger2@illinois.edu 217-333-2006
Nutrition
Immunophysiology and Behavior
James K. Drackley James Drackley
drackley@illinois.edu 217-244-3157
Nutrition
Michael  Ellis Michael Ellis
mellis7@illinois.edu 217-333-6455
Production and Environment Management
Nutrition
Amy Fischer Amy Fischer
afischer@illinois.edu 217-333-6462
Rex Gaskins Rex Gaskins
hgaskins@illinois.edu 217-244-3165
Microbiology
Immunophysiology and Behavior
Janeen L. Johnson Janeen Johnson
johnso17@illinois.edu 217-333-0069
Production and Environment Management
Immunophysiology and Behavior
Rodney W. Johnson Rodney Johnson
rwjohn@illinois.edu
217-333-2118
Immunophysiology and Behavior
Kevin H. Kline Kevin Kline
kkline@illinois.edu 217-333-1784
Production and Environment Management
Anna V. Kukekova Anna Kukekova
avk@illinois.edu
Genetics, Genomics, and Bioinformatics
Roderick I. Mackie Roderick Mackie
r-mackie@illinois.edu 217-244-2526
Microbiology
David J. Miller David Miller
djmille@illinois.edu 217-333-3408
Reproductive Biology
Jan E. Novakofski Jan Novakofski
jnova@illinois.edu
217-333-6181
Meat Science and Muscle Biology
Romana A. Nowak Romana Nowak
ranowak@illinois.edu 217-244-3902
Reproductive Biology
Carl M. Parsons Carl Parsons
poultry@illinois.edu 217-333-8774
Nutrition
Alfred L. Roca Alfred Roca
roca@illinois.edu
217-244-8853
Genetics, Genomics, and Bioinformatics
Sandra L. Rodriguez-Zas Sandra Rodriguez-Zas
rodrgzzs@illinois.edu 217-333-8810
Genetics, Genomics, and Bioinformatics
Daniel W. Shike Daniel Shike
dshike@illinois.edu 217-333-0322
Nutrition
Production and Environment Management
Andrew J. Steelman Andrew Steelman
asteelma@illinois.edu
Immunophysiology and Behavior
Kelly S. Swanson Kelly Swanson
ksswanso@illinois.edu 217-333-4189
Nutrition
Genetics, Genomics, and Bioinformatics
Matthew B. Wheeler Matthew Wheeler
mbwheele@illinois.edu 217-333-2239
Reproductive Biology